On Tuesday, two hundred members of Congress sent a letter to Democrat and Republican leadership telling them there would be no deal on a budget if Democrats try to strip it of the Hyde Amendment, which protects from federal funds going to abortion.

The letter reads, “As part of their pro-abortion crusade, Democrats have taken direct aim at these long-standing, bipartisan protections that generally prevent the federal government from using taxpayer dollars to support abortion procedures.” 

“No president in American history has ever vetoed an appropriations bill due to its inclusion of the Hyde Amendment. Moreover, President Obama maintained the Hyde Amendment in each of his budget proposals. As recent as June 2019, former Vice President Joe Biden supported the Hyde Amendment and acknowledged that it works harmoniously with federal funding for women’s healthcare,” continues the letter.

“We cannot allow the Hyde Amendment and other important pro-life safeguards to be decimated by Congressional Democrats. Accordingly, we pledge to vote against any government funding bill that eliminates or weakens the Hyde Amendment or other current-law, pro-life appropriations provisions.” 

The move comes as a shocking blow to pro-abortion House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), Senate Democrat Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), and other pro-abortion congressional leaders, who have pledged to help President Joe Biden remove the Hyde Amendment, despite his longtime prior support for it. 

The Hyde Amendment first took effect in 1980 and has remained in congressional budgets ever since. It is responsible for saving over two million lives. 

Multiple conservative groups support the measure, including Susan B. Anthony List, Heritage Action for America, the Family Research Council, Eagle Forum, Concerned Women for America, Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission, among others.

According to the Washington Examiner, “The 10 Republican members who did not sign the letter all have anti-abortion records or stated positions: Reps. Mark Amodei of Nevada, Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania, Jeff Fortenberry of Nebraska, Andy Harris of Maryland, Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, Tom McClintock of California, Devin Nunes of California, Maria Elvira Salazar of Florida, and Chris Smith of New Jersey.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments